Functions of Vata

The functions of humors are of two types- 1) Physiological functions (Prakruta Karma)
2) Pathological functions (Vaikruta Karma).

Chakrapani explains that it is not possible to enumerate all the qualities or actions of Vata. Only a few have therefore been explained. Some of these can be ascertained through direct perception e.g. speech, some by inference e.g. mental activities, some on the basis of scriptural testimony e.g. the shape and size of the embryo.
Including the Gati and Gandhana as the main function in the definition, the other functions of Vata are as follows.
 It is the originator of every kind of action in the body.
 Vata stimulates and conveys all senses in the body. The object is
perceived by the senses organ and transformed into the energy of Vata for transmission to mind and from there to respective Indriya Buddhi for conclusive recognition.
 Vata is Tantrayantradhara. Tantra is the body and Yantra indicates the machine along with its parts with relation to the human body, Sira, Snayu etc. It is therefore clear that Vata is the upholder of sustainer of both the structures or parts and their functions in the body and maintains them in good order.
 It is the controller of the mind and conductor of mental faculties. Vata restrains the Mana from indulging in the undesirable objects and guides it towards desirable object. The functions related to the emotions are also conducted by Vata.
 It stimulates the digestive fire i.e. stimulates the secretion of the digestive juice in the Annavaha Srotas- part of Kostha.
 It is regular eliminator of the excretions from the body.
 It dries up the excess moisture of the morbid humors.

 It plans the regular synthesis of the tissues in the body and also joins the tissues in the proper proportion to form the structure of the body.
 It is divisive factor for the development of all channels of the body.
 It is cause of formation of different structure of the foetal body.

Types of Vata:
Depending upon the importance and level of action, all functions of Sarira Vata, which are directly related to brain and the reading channels may be conveniently grouped into five categories by dividing Vata into five subdivisions with separate seats and functions. In the course of functioning there is certain amount of overlapping in the area of operation of these five subdivisions. The five divisions are Prana, Udana, Vyana, Samana and Apana.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: